Don’t stop ’til you get enough

the-international

The International is not James Bond-type. It’s not even Jason Bourne, nor a movie based on a John le Carre fiction. But close. With all its locations from Berlin, New York, Milan and Istanbul, it’s as if you are watching Bond minus Daniel Craig.

It’s about a multinational bank suspected of dealing with dirty money, weapons sale to international crime group, and supporting domestic conflicts in Third World countries. How truthful is this to the real world, I must ask? Because if you watch CNN or BBC News on a daily basis, you are bombarded with non-stop conflicts from Afghanistan, parts of Pakistan, Zimbabwe, and Iraq.

Anyway, going back to the movie. Its pacing is fast and the story progression is fluid. No dull moments, as Daniel Craig and Naomi Watts tried their best to pin down the bank because of mysterious deaths, and linkages.

But what is disturbing is the fact that the justification for conflict support and weapons sale is justified by the logic of good-will-not-prevail-without-evil school of thought. That the guilty party becomes collateral damage, and is replaced by new ones. The cycle continues.

It reeks of truthfulness, isn’t it?

Early birthday gift, for my self.

dsc01574

Last January, my 1 year gym membership with Slimmer’s World Megamall expires. This is a company gift given to me December 2007. I intended to have another year membership to sustain my fitness regimen, because I am afraid that stopping going to the gym after a year might lead me back to gaining weight (again).

But during my consultation with the gym facilitator, I was encouraged to go lifetime exclusive. I won’t say how much, but let me tell you, I dig deep into my pocket. But what the heck, this is better than buying vitamins and daily supplements monthly for the rest of your life. Nothing beats regular exercise to keep you fit, healthy, and alert.

My lifetime membership card arrived February. And I can use the gym facility forever, until I die, without shedding a cent. No annual dues, no hidden charges. My early birthday gift, and a treat for myself for working so hard for the last half decade!

Pamper day

urban-spa

Sundays are reserved for pampering. Today, I wake up at 9am, way too early for a Sunday, because normally, I woke up at 12nn. Anyhow, I start the day with breakfast at a nearby fastfood chain. Read some news from my preferred daily, then off to Megamall for 1.5hours of sweat, cardio training, and muscle toning. Afterwards, the best part.

I had a 3pm full body massage from Urban Spa. It’s been awhile since I had my last visit there, so this is fitting especially now that we officially entered March, where most corporate slaves beat their deadlines and quota for the remaining days of the fiscal year.

What a way to hurdle the stress that is about to come by enjoying an hour of massage. It is heavenly to say the least. Though the price is way too high than its counterparts, still, it is worth it. I don’t have to explicitly tell the exact massage itself, for I might spill their secret. Rather, try it for your self.

That’s my pamper Sunday.