Asics Gel Nimbus 12

It was third quarter of last year that I realized I need to buy a new pair of running shoes. My current New Balance shoes was used for close to a year! I think it needs a partner.

I research for the best running shoes around—Nike, New Balance, Newton, Brooks, Asics. I decided to scratch Nike in the list of options because well, it’s too common. Most runners in the runs I join wear Nikes, in different colors. I also scratch New Balance even if I have a discount coupon for joining Unilab Run 2 last Nov 2010. My current shoes is already NB, so no two same brand for now.

Newton shoes are too loud for me, their shoes are in colorful designs and colorful running shoes are not my type. Brooks shoes I don’t like the style–generic looking, although, I heard that they are one of the best (not to mention, expensive).

So, I was left with Asics. It was really meant to be it because I love their sneaker line, Onitsuka Tiger. I have two pairs of it, in white and gray. Around Oct 2010, I went to Asics store in Greenbelt 3 and check out the different styles. But I did not stay long because I just felt sad seeing those nice running shoes and I am not buying. But I promise myself to return to that store soon because I really wanted an Asics shoes.

Fast forward to Dec 2010. I went to Greenbelt 3 to register for the Condura Skyway Marathon 2011. Their registration booth, incidentally, is in front of the Asics store! Little did I know later on that Asics is a co-sponsor of this running event and that every registrant is given 15% off discount coupon. Sweet.

I thought maybe this is the sign? So after I officially register for the Condura Run, I went inside the Asics store, have my feet analyze (normal pronation) and presto! I was presented with the shoe type suited for my feet.

I choose their top of the line, Asics Gel Nimbus 12 (2010). Lime color. The funny thing was, when I first try using it on my regular run (in Antique during Christmas break), I was caught up in a heavy downpour while in the middle of doing an afternoon 10K. Literally, “bininyagan yung sapataos.”

Since then, I am using it on my runs (both indoor/outdoor) and it’s nice on my feet. I can really feel the gel while I run, like your stepping in a gummy bear. That kind of comfort. I heard from online literature that runners who switch to a gel shoes confessed that their shin splints was gone. I have to agree.

It was a worthwhile purchase. Glad I choose Asics.

Leave a Reply

