From swords to vampires.

Finally, I finish reading A Clash Of Kings, the second book in the A Song Of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin. It was challenging because it is more than 900 pages long, but it was worth it because the story is very engaging and the characters are well-defined. You can root for them, and can literally sense the filth and gore of the imaginary place. GRR Martin writes easily, can be understood, but makes his story progression likeable. Never boring.

Book 2 made enter some new characters that will intensify the plot, which we all love in Book 1 (Game of Thrones). I recommend that you read this series, and specially this book before HBO premieres its adaptation second quarter of next year.

After swords and dragons, I am currently reading another book series (book 3 in The Strain trilogy). It is The Night Eternal by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan. I was able to read the first two books–The Strain, and The Fall–and this will be the closure to the story. It got me excited when I went to Fully Booked in Bonifacio High Street because they already have the hardbound copy. Last stock.

So I have no recourse but to buy it immediately, rather than wait for another time and go back. There were instances before when I do that, only to find out that the book I am aiming for is no longer available. So I don’t want that to happen. I guess, every serious reader feel the same way, too.

So far, so good on The Night Eternal. This is a different approach to what a vampire is because it is scientific/medical. You have to read the book to know what I am saying. I hope that Mr Del Toro will turn this into a movie or miniseries someday.

Leave a Reply

