My favorite film of 2011.

I thought that my favorite film of the year will be those included in the nominations in Golden Globes or The Oscars. Until I saw this indie film titled “50/50” starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Seth Rogen and Anna Kendrick. I am biased for movies with good soundtrack, and this one film is (again) had me. And the last time I like a movie with good soundtrack was (500) Days of Summer, which incidentally, also starred Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

It is a story of a 27 year old guy (Levitt) who discovered that he has spinal cancer, and how he deals with it. Though the topic at hand is serious, but what can you expect with Seth Rogen in it? But I like how the story was carried over, even if the core story at hand, is beating and living your life after knowing and discovering that you have cancer. One memorable scene is in the hospital and Radiohead’s “High and Dry” is played after Levitt discovered his malady. And of course, the kilig scene at the ending when Pearl Jam’s “Yellow Ledbetter” is played.

I will not review the movie in detailed manner. You just don’t when you like it. You shut your mind for its flaws. Go. Watch. It.

Leave a Reply

